My Ten

Posted: July 26, 2012 in Books, RPG

I came across a link the other day that read My Ten and he found it here.  In it the blogger poised a question what RPG books would you keep if you only able to keep 10 of them.  You have to own the books for them to be on the list.  So without further ADO here is my Ten

Dresden Files Your Story, I am huge Dresden Files fan and the book is written in the voice of Billy the Werewolf which makes it feel like I am reading a Dresden book.  On top of that Dresden Files uses the FATE system which introduces a lot of new thoughts on RPG design.

Pathfinder Core Rule Book, I tried 4e, I tried Savage Worlds, but nothing feel like home to me except 3.5 and Pathfinder fixed all the glaring issues and improved it.  Pathfinder is a must.

Pathfinder Bestiary,  pretty much because the Pathfinder Core Rule book does not have a Bestiary.

Marvel Heroic Roleplaying, new to the market but making a splash.  Marvel uses the Cortex Plus system and as with Dresden introduces a lot of new concepts in RPG design.

Star Wars: SAGA Edition,  I won’t say the best Star Wars RPG, but it is the easiest to pick up and run.

D20 Future, this book has a whole lot of info for different versions of Sci-Fi games one of the only RPG books I like to pick up and read over and over again.

Wheel of Time RPG, when ran right this game rocks and has a great magic system.

Alternity: Stardrive, I sort of inherited this book.  But I have read it over and every once in a while return to it.  I like how it maps out human progress and shows how humanity got to the stars.

Dragon Age RPG Box Set 1, based on the Dragon Age video game, this system is Rules Lite but you can do so much with it.  It reminds me of 3.5 but stripped down and throws in Talents.

Monte Cooke’s World of Darkness, interesting book and a cool modern game I also love the fluid magic system.

Honorable Mention

Traveller Core Rulebook, I don’t own this book but I am really interested in the game.

I am sure not everyone will agree with my list but I hope it will give you thought on your list.

Comments
  1. Ameron says:

    I debated between taking the best books from multiple games (as you did) or a bunch that will make the gaming experience better for the one game you play all the time (in my case D&D). I’m glad to see the Marvel Heroes made your list (DC Heroes made mine) and Alternity (a really underrated system). Kudos for squeezing Traveler in as #11.

  2. Robert says:

    1) Pathfinder Core Rule Book
    2) Pathfinder Bestiary

    Completely agree, Pathfinder is my go to system for a generic fantasy game system. Paizo knocked this one out of the park.

    3) Mistborn Adventure Game

    This system is amazing, and breaks the mold of what I’ve come to expect in a role playing game. Even aside from being part of the Mistborn series, this system has made me interested in other systems like it.

    4) Star Wars 2nd Edition Core Rules (D6 System)

    My all time favorite Star Wars RPG system.

    5) Wheel of Time Roleplaying Game

    Concur on all points.

    6) Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition

    This is a good one for a quick game. Throw together some characters real quick, have fun, and fill in all the cliche’s. It also fixed some issues with earlier editions that were confusing and made characters too powerful.

    7) Dragonstar Starfarer’s Handbook
    8) Dungeons and Dragons Tome of Magic (3.5)
    9) Dungeons and Dragons Tome of Battle (3.5)
    10) Dungeons and Dragons Unearthed Arcana (3.5)

    The above 4 are all compatible with Pathfinder, an important part of the decision to keep them. Dragonstar, even being designed for 3.0, has all the elements you need to turn pathfinder into a sci-fi game with little to no trouble. The tome of Magic and Tome of battle contain some of my all time favorite classes from 3.5, and they can easily be converted to Pathfinder and enjoyed in that system as well. Plus, those books were not easy to find in the first place, and I would be loathe to give them up.

    Unearthed Arcana may be one of the best supplements to the official Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 system. It is filled with alternate rules, ideas, and guidlines for taking what players and DM’s alike expect and turning it on it’s head. There are so many world building tips, guidelines for game and story writing, and making adjustments to a role playing system that it actually transcends it’s intended 3.5 focus. You can use things presented in it in just about any d20 based role playing system. Behind core rule books, it is probably the most referenced book I own.

  3. ashimar2 says:

    I forgot to mention Shadowrun. Not for sure my top Ten but a great game and fun read.

Leave a Reply

